Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
loststudios
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:16 pm

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by loststudios »

Hello all.
I'm considering purchasing Robotask if it will suit my needs.
What I would need it to do is post my daily online advertisements on http://www.craigslist.org
Can Robotask do scheduled tasks on the web if you provide the appropriate links? 
Thanks for any insight on this. :)
 
loststudios
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:16 pm

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by loststudios »

The lack of response in this thread leads me to believe I need to be a bit more specific. 
I need to post a daily online classified ad and currently have the Robotask trial version.  I don't dare purchase Robotask until I know that it can perform the following task:
I need for Robotask to open my IE browser everyday at 3:00ET.  I need it to go to this address and post my online daily ad.  This is a free online classifieds site with no types of logins.
Once at that page, I need it to place a curser in the first field, "Posting Title", and enter the title of my classified advertisement. 
I then need it to select the keyboard's "Tab" button twice so the curser jumps to the "Posting Description" field.  I need it to enter my prewritten text for the ad's body.
It needs to then hit 'Tab' and enter my email address in the "Your E-Mail address" field, followed by 'Tab' twice which brings you to "Continue".  Then it needs to select 'spacebar' to continue to the next page.
Finally, Robotask would need to select "Continue" once again, followed by clicking the "Accept the terms of use" button.   And that's it.
Is it possible for Robotask to perform a web function such as this?  It seems like it is possible; however, I find the task of programming mouse specific events such as selecting "Accept the terms of use" button (which doesn't have any keyboard access) questionable.
If it can perform this task, could someone possibly get me started on the strings I need so I can try it out and test it? 
Thanks for your time. :)
Last edited by loststudios on Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3201
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by Oleg »

I created an example (see below), but it is adapted to my browser and my internet connection. I have an additional toolbars at IE and quantity of TAB keystroke may be another (more or less, it can be determined in an experiments). Pauses between keystrokes is necessary for waiting of loading web pages. You can adapt it to your settings. In order to import this task into RoboTask save text of the task to file (any filename) and use menu command "Task | Import".

;**********************
;* RoboTask Task file *
;* Do not edit!       *
;**********************

[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|65091953
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
ExternalName=STRING|"Task46"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|375245912
Name=STRING|"Example of ""craigslist | posting"""
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3

[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER
Action4=FOLDER
Action5=FOLDER
Action6=FOLDER
Action7=FOLDER
Action8=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_RUN_PROG"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Run ""//post.craigslist.org/nyc/G/crg/mnh"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action1\Params]
program=STRING|"http://post.craigslist.org/nyc/G/crg/mnh"
runas=STRING|"0"
wait=STRING|"1"

[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_PAUSE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Delay 10000 ms"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action2\Params]
delay=STRING|"100"

[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to ""craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action3\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"0"
fixedwindow=STRING|"0"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"

[Actions\Action4]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to active window"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action4\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"1"
fixedwindow=STRING|"1"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"""Test posting title{TAB}Test Location{TAB}Test Posting body"",{TAB}test@test.com{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{ENTER}"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"Notepad"

[Actions\Action5]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_PAUSE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Delay 10000 ms"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action5\Params]
delay=STRING|"100"

[Actions\Action6]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to ""craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action6\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"0"
fixedwindow=STRING|"0"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{ENTER}"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"

[Actions\Action7]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_PAUSE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Delay 15000 ms"
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action7\Params]
delay=STRING|"150"

[Actions\Action8]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_SENDKEYS"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Send keys to ""craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"""
Params=FOLDER

[Actions\Action8\Params]
currentwindow=STRING|"0"
fixedwindow=STRING|"0"
keylayout=STRING|"0"
keys=STRING|"{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{ENTER}"
sendkind=STRING|"0"
wincaption=STRING|"craigslist | posting a creative gigs listing on new york city craigslist"
Last edited by Oleg on Fri Nov 05, 2004 6:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
loststudios
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:16 pm

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by loststudios »

Wow.
Thanks so much Oleg, as you stated, with a few modifications due to browser differences, it worked flawlessly. This just might work for me yet.
There's actually a second half to this scenario.  I need Robotask to answer the craigslist confirmation email that is sent to Outlook Express.  I've made quite a few different attempts at getting Robotask to do it, but either it's not possible or I can't make it happen. 
After posting the ad, I need Robotask to open Outlook Express and then open the craigslist confirmation email that is sent to me.  If it helps, this e-mail has a defined sender and subject.  For your example above, the email subject would be: "craigslist.org" questions @ craigslist.org and the subject would be: POST/EDIT/DELETE : (creative gigs) Test Posting Title.
Once the email is open, there is a single text link that needs to be clicked on.  When clicked on, this opens a web page that has 3 buttons: PUBLISH, EDIT and DELETE.  I just need it to click on publish. 
The webpage/publsh part is much like your example above so I know that's not a problem.  It's just the Outlook Express part that makes me worried.
Any insight?  Is this possible?
btw... what's the command for robotask to close Internet Explorer or Outlook Express when it's finished running the task?
 
Last edited by loststudios on Wed Nov 17, 2004 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3201
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by Oleg »

RoboTask can't make analysis of incoming mail now. But you can write own script on BASIC. In this case you should download Basic plugin for RoboTask and install it.
what's the command for robotask to close Internet Explorer or Outlook Express when it's finished running the task?
You can use "Window Command" action with "Close" parameter.
Last edited by Oleg on Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
loststudios
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:16 pm

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by loststudios »

Hmm..
I installed the BASIC plugin and fooled with it for a few hours but can't get anything worthwhile to happen.  I must admit I do not know BASIC, but I was under the impression that I could use Robotask without any programming knowledge.
Any help with this BASIC script that I need to write?
Thanks again.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3201
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Possibly purchasing RT if it will....

Post by Oleg »

Of course, if you want to use any BASIC scripts, you should have some programming experience. Otherwise BASIC plugin can't help you.
Post Reply