Page 1 of 3
Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:42 pm
by elwayfan446
Hi, I am currently trying to run a .cmd file with a simply Run/Program task but it isn't working. The command windown just flashes and goes away. If I put a pause in the .cmd file, there is nothing there.... no errors or anything. The crazy thing is that I can call the same file with windows task scheduler and it works fine. Can you tell me why this isn't working?
I have attached screenshots of windows scheduler and robotask.

- Windows Scheduler.png (12.53 KiB) Viewed 37621 times

- RoboTask.png (19.17 KiB) Viewed 37621 times
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:45 am
by Oleg
I tried the similar task. It works
the task is
Code: Select all
;*****************************
;* RoboTask Task file
;* Do not edit in text editor!
;*****************************
[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|1680400764
Comment=STRINGLIST
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
ExternalName=STRING|"Task280"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|-258379537
LogOnAsUser=INTEGER|1
Name=STRING|"Run ""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd ""..."
OnErrorTaskID=INTEGER|-1
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3
UnicodeFormat=INTEGER|1
WriteGeneralLog=INTEGER|0
[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_RUN_PROG"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Run ""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"" """
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1\Params]
ifnonzero=STRING|"0"
program=STRING|"""D:\Just test folder with spaces\Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"""
runas=STRING|"0"
wait=STRING|"0"
workdir=STRING|"""D:\Just test folder with spaces"""
CMD file is simple:
Maybe the problem is in the environment and the CMD file.
Windows Task Scheduler run the task under
SYSTEM account
But when you try to run the CMD file from RoboTask application it starts the CMD file
in your own user account
Try to run your CMD by double-click from windows explorer
Does it works?
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:14 pm
by elwayfan446
Oleg, yes.. that was what was so confusing. When I click from explorer it works fine. Same with Windows Scheduler. I just can't get it to work with RoboTask.
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:42 pm
by elwayfan446
Hi Oleg, I am still having this issue. Like I mentioned, I am able to double click the file and run it just fine. I am not sure why using the user account over the system account matters. I do have admin privledges on my machine. Any other ideas?
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:50 am
by Oleg
... The command windown just flashes and goes away. ...
I think that your CMD has been started but fails for some reason.
Also you cat try to use the command line:
cmd.exe /c "your_CMD_lile_full_name.cmd"
Pay attention that you can use this command line in
Run Command-Line Utility action.
This action allows to catch output stream to variable.
To redirect output to a file use the line
cmd.exe /c "your_CMD_lile_full_name.cmd" > output.txt
Maybe you can read some error messages in the output stream
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:56 am
by Oleg
Also try to remove quotes from CMD name and folder name
This works on my computers but it is possible some specific environment on your computer
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:27 pm
by elwayfan446
Oleg, I tried what I thought you meant but I don't think I am following. Is there any way you could provide an example?
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:31 pm
by Oleg
Example with redirect output:
Code: Select all
;*****************************
;* RoboTask Task file
;* Do not edit in text editor!
;*****************************
[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|1680400764
Comment=STRINGLIST
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
ExternalName=STRING|"Task280"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|-258379537
LogOnAsUser=INTEGER|1
Name=STRING|"Test cmd file with spaces (redirect output)"
OnErrorTaskID=INTEGER|-1
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3
UnicodeFormat=INTEGER|1
WriteGeneralLog=INTEGER|0
[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FOLDER_CHANGE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Change Folder (D:\Just test folder with spaces)"
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1\Params]
folder=STRING|"D:\Just test folder with spaces"
[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_RUN_PROG"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Run ""cmd.exe /c ""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"" > output.txt"""
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action2\Params]
ifnonzero=STRING|"0"
params=STRING|"/c{EOL}""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"" > output.txt"
program=STRING|"cmd.exe"
runas=STRING|"0"
wait=STRING|"2"
workdir=STRING|"""D:\Just test folder with spaces"""
[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_GENERAL_RUN_PROG"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Run ""output.txt """
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action3\Params]
ifnonzero=STRING|"0"
program=STRING|"output.txt"
runas=STRING|"0"
wait=STRING|"0"
Example with
"Run Command-line utility":
Code: Select all
;*****************************
;* RoboTask Task file
;* Do not edit in text editor!
;*****************************
[Root]
ActionAfterRun=INTEGER|0
Actions=FOLDER
Automat=INTEGER|-1
CatID=INTEGER|1680400764
Comment=STRINGLIST
ContinueOnError=INTEGER|0
ExternalName=STRING|"Task290"
Hide=INTEGER|0
ID=INTEGER|-1161914820
LogOnAsUser=INTEGER|1
Name=STRING|"Test cmd file with spaces (commandline utility)"
OnErrorTaskID=INTEGER|-1
Priority=INTEGER|3
RunOnClose=INTEGER|0
RunOnStartup=INTEGER|0
ToLog=INTEGER|3
UnicodeFormat=INTEGER|1
WriteGeneralLog=INTEGER|0
[Actions]
Action1=FOLDER
Action2=FOLDER
Action3=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1]
ActionID=STRING|"A_FOLDER_CHANGE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Change Folder (D:\Just test folder with spaces)"
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action1\Params]
folder=STRING|"D:\Just test folder with spaces"
[Actions\Action2]
ActionID=STRING|"A_MISC_RUNCONSOLEAPP"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Run command-line utility: cmd.exe /c ""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"""
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action2\Params]
convertansi=STRING|"0"
ifnonzero=STRING|"0"
outputvar=STRING|"out"
params=STRING|"/c{EOL}""Test cmd file with spaces.cmd"""
program=STRING|"cmd.exe"
saveexitcode=STRING|"0"
saveoutput=STRING|"1"
workdir=STRING|"""D:\Just test folder with spaces"""
[Actions\Action3]
ActionID=STRING|"A_DIALOG_MESSAGE"
Enabled=INTEGER|-1
Name=STRING|"Show ""{out}"""
Params=FOLDER
[Actions\Action3\Params]
icon=STRING|"1"
msg0=STRING|"{out}"
msgcount=STRING|"1"
playsound=STRING|"0"
showmessage=STRING|"1"
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:51 pm
by elwayfan446
Unfortunately, I haven't dealt much directly with the files. I have only used the interface to set up tasks. Can you tell me what I would need to do with these? Where would I keep them? Do I just modify the strings in the script to direct to my files?
Re: Run Program/Open Document Task Not Working
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:49 pm
by Oleg
Save the text of the task to a file and use menu Task->Import to import the task into RoboTask.
You can open the task in the task editor after importing and see parameters of each step