Page 1 of 1

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:11 pm
by Kosmodrom
Hi, I have these two questions about some triggering events I would need:- Is it possible to use a program shutdown as a triggering event? So that something happenes if a named program gets terminated (right now RT can only detect window shutdown or service shutdown).&- There is a triggering event which does something if system becomes Idle. Can one also make RT perform an action when one return to the computer?Thanks.

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:46 am
by Oleg
Is it possible to use a program shutdown as a triggering event?
Robotask has no such trigger, but you may use the following algorithm:

If {IsProcessExists(your_process.exe)} then
   Wait for process (your_process.exe)
   ...
   do something
   ...
end if

Attach cyclic event to this task. If process doesn't exists in memory this task does nothing. Otherwise it waits for process shutdown.
Cyclic event is universal trigger. You can do necessary verifications in task body.
Can one also make RT perform an action when one return to the computer?
Good idea. I wrote this in our ToDo list.

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:11 am
by Kosmodrom
I see, thank you for answers.Another thing I'm thinking about is a possibility to not showing RT's icon in the system tray. Possible?

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:29 am
by Oleg
Yes. But how do you want to do interactive actions (run task, configure task, view logs, etc.) when main window of RoboTask is hidden?
Now you can simply click on tray icon.

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:48 am
by Kosmodrom
I would rather use the Start Menu shortcut.

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:02 am
by Oleg
It won't help you, when you use RoboTask as NT Service.

Two questions about triggering events

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:52 am
by Kosmodrom
I don't use it as a service, so I don't want to show the icon, but rather use a shortcut if I need to change anything.PS. AB0B8, GB> MB> 0=3;89A:u?