Page 1 of 1

Robotask and Basic

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 pm
by sschmalfeld
There seems to be a dearth of examples using Basic and Robotask. Am I missing something or do the simply not exist?
In addition, is there a place to see more examples other than the ones included? For example, I am really unsure how to pass parameters to or have Robotask use dynamic parameters. By dynamic parameters I mean parameters that will change each time the Robotask executes.

Robotask and Basic

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 10:32 am
by Oleg
There is no way to pass some parameters directly to basic script now.
But you can read user variables within the script.

So, you may do the following:
Set necessary variables
Run the script

We'll investigate the problem, and will add the possibility to pass parameters into the script directly some later.

Robotask and Basic

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:05 pm
by sschmalfeld
How can I set variables from outside Robotask?

Robotask and Basic

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:38 pm
by Oleg
There are a many actions which set user variables of RoboTask.
For example see "Create variable", "Set variable" (in variables group), "Input box" (dialogs)

In basic script you can do the folowing

a = RoboTaskApp.ExpandText("{Parameter_a}")

Also see basic examples, included into Basic installation package.

You can set RoboTask variables from basic script too. See method
RoboTaskApp.SetUserVariable(By Val Name as String, By Val Value as String)

This information is contained in RoboTask help file or PDF documentation. See the topic "Actions" | "Basic" | "RoboTaskApp Object"
Also you can see it online here: http://www.robotask.com/help/