Help with a large task?

Discuss RoboTask here
Post Reply
Luckyjack
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:32 am
Location: United States

Help with a large task?

Post by Luckyjack »

Hello:
I'm evaluating this software for possible use.  The first task that I need to have done is to create archive folders as follows:
The top level folder is named Archive
The folders inside this folder are for the years 2001-2010 (ten folders inside the Archive folder).
These eleven folders need to be created in over 700 folders that already exist.
Can and how would this be done?  I've already found the Create Folder area, and synchronize folders, but it doesn't seem to be able to specify a range of folders to create into.  Is this correct?
 
I'll keep reading; this seems to me like a relatively simple task, but it is currently eluding me on how to enable it.
Thanks,
LJ
Last edited by Luckyjack on Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3201
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Help with a large task?

Post by Oleg »

I hope that those 700 folders are in one place.

You can do it by using "File loop" action with loop kind "By Folders Only".

See the following algorithm:

File Loop (by folders and save each name into Folder_name variable)
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2001
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2002
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2003
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2004
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2005
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2006
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2007
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2008
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2009
   Create folder {Folder_Name}\Archive\2010
End Loop
Luckyjack
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:32 am
Location: United States

Help with a large task?

Post by Luckyjack »

That is most helpful, however I still have to figure out how to specify which folders to populate into.
Each folder inside the design folder structure will need to have an archive folder, and then the yearly folders within that.
How do I specify where to place the folders, when the 700 sites already exist?
Thanks much for your input Oleg, I'm eager to see if I can make this work.
 
LJ
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 3201
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Help with a large task?

Post by Oleg »

You may enumerate folders in the text file like this:

C:\Program Files\RoboTask
D:\Downloads
D:\upload
e:\photos\web
.....
etc.

and use "Text loop" instead of "File loop" (see my post above)
Post Reply